Rating: 3 | Votes: 1 | Views: 1080 | Comments: 1 | Favorited: 0
Tags: press - saying oakwood press - saying oakwood - oakwood press - legitimate company
Just another WordPress site
Rating: 3 | Votes: 1 | Views: 1080 | Comments: 1 | Favorited: 0
Tags: press - saying oakwood press - saying oakwood - oakwood press - legitimate company
I received a letter from an Oakwood Press not too long ago with special letterhead, address, etc and reading the letter the person signing it said that one of my poems (which I think they found on Poemhunter.com) was picked to be in an anthology they were printing and they needed my permission. They also offered the book for $19.95. So, thinking this was a legitimate company, I sent them the money and waited, now almost 6 months with no book. So I proceeded to look for Oakwood press online. I found that same listing. I tried calling the number..
Then, yesterday, I got a call from a man, a really nice gentleman, from
So beware of anyone saying they are from Oakwood Press or any press that aren't legitimate. It was my fault for not checking in advance but I was so excited that anyone would want to publish my poem.
Dwight Bain
- » view
- » report
Posted 10:10pm February 4th, 2009Kathryn, we've all had bad experiences with con-artists, but don't let it slow down your writing! Wishing you well on the journey. -db